Scratch

Sorry this post will have no pictures…keep reading though! 🙂

I bake all my cakes from scratch.  I use recipes and quality ingredients, but sometimes, just sometimes…even using great ingredients and recipes makes for bad cake!  I spent the day yesterday testing recipes.  I searched high and low on the internet looking for highly-rated cake recipes.  When I found them, I printed them out.  Then I chose a few to bake.  I’m not sure why so many people liked this particular yellow cake recipe.  One of the yellow cakes I tested was spit-out-of-your-mouth nasty…and it actually had a really high rating…by a lot of people!

I’ve been getting a few complaints that my cakes have good flavor, but are a little on the dry side.  I heard it especially, about my white cake, so that prompted the search.  After a few failures (yellow cake), I have found THE PERFECT CHOCOLATE CAKE!  The flavor, texture and moisture-level are perfect…it’s superb!  I also tested a white cake that I really love too!  The flavor is almost like an angel food cake, but a little denser and it’s pretty darn moist too!

See, texture is key in stacked cakes.  While it would be nice to have a soft, fall-apart-melt-in-your-mouth cake, it’s really hard to layer and stack a cake like that!  Sides bulge, they crumble when torted, and they squish when stacking…makes a decorator’s life a nightmare! 🙂  So, I’m trying to find a happy medium!
Back to baking…

Leave a Reply

