Yes…ANOTHER New Cake Flavor

I’ll start off by saying that my son, Ben is BRILLIANT!  His birthday is Sunday and I asked him what flavor cake he wanted.  He thought for a moment and said, “Peanut Butter”.  Um…ok!  I love pb just as much as he does and I’m always up for a challenge, so peanut butter he’ll have!  I wanted a cake that would be sturdy too, because his cake is going to be a carved Lightening McQueen.  So I adapted a pound cake recipe that I love.  Oh yeah baby…it’s peanut butter!  The whole house smells like I’ve baked peanut butter cookies!

So, what goes with peanut butter, you ask?  The first thing that comes to mind is chocolate (hello…who doesn’t love a Reeses PB cup now and again…or several!).  I have a chocolate ganache recipe that I’ve been wanting to try too.  This one is whipped and makes a FABULOUSLY smooth, creamy, chocolatey icing for the PB cupcakes I made.  What else goes with PB?  Jelly!  I had all intentions to fill the cupcakes with Raspberry Preserves, but was so elated with the flavor of the whipped ganache that I “forgot”…okay, I was consumed in trying not to lick the spatula every time it came out of the mixing bowl!  I did, however smear some onto one of the cupcakes after it was unwrapped and let me tell you, it was DIVINE!

Without further ado (or rambling)…I’ll introduce the Peanut Butter Pound Cake with Dark Chocolate Whipped Ganache (Gina…if you’re reading this…this icing will definitely be something you’ll want to try for one of your next cakes…you’ll love it!)

Peanut Butter Cup Cupcakes

Peanut Butter Cup Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

