Grandma’s 80th Birthday Cake

80th Birthday Cake

80th Birthday Cake

This is the cake I did for my Grandma’s 80th birthday this past weekend. It is a culmination of some of her ‘loves’…traveling, teaching and gardening.

Flower Pot Close-up

Flower Pot Close-up

80th Birthday Cake Close-up

80th Birthday Cake Close-up

The bottom layer was a suitcase covered in edible luggage stickers from some of the places she’s traveled.  The next tier was the “teacher” tier and it had an edible blackboard, an apple made from puffed rice cereal treats and a turtle.  I did the top tier of her birthday cake with a flower pot made out of cake and the sugar Ranunculus flowers because for as long as I’ve been alive (and much longer I’m sure) she’s had envious really nice gardens in her homes.  The Plumeria blossoms were on the cake because she loved Hawaii so much she bought a pair of Plumeria earrings (which she happened to be wearing that day!)

My Grandma with her birthday cake

My Grandma with her birthday cake

Happy Birthday, Grandma!  I really enjoyed planning out and making your birthday cake!  You are a wonderful inspiration to me–your determination, stamina, hard work, thoughtfulness, caring, compassion and so much more!  I love you!

“How does one thank you for such an incredible gift–your cake, your talent, your time–all precious…a gift like that has such a short life, but it will last in my memory.” ~Grandma

3 responses to “Grandma’s 80th Birthday Cake

  1. Awww…you made me cry! What a nice tribute to Grandma, and I love that photo of her! And then SHE made me cry with her thanks! I was a great day, and I’m so grateful you were such a big part of it! I LOVE YOU!

  2. What a labor of love. Really like how you incorporated so many of her interests in a cohesive way. Nice work!!!

  3. Thank you, Stephanie! I had a lot of fun with this one, but maybe because it was so personal! 🙂

Leave a Reply

