Snow Day!

This post won’t be about cake (sorry!).  We got 12 1/2 inches of snow dumped on us last night and school was cancelled.  I’ve decided to share with you a little of what we do on our days off!  We started the day with French Toast.  Why?  Because we have eggs coming out our ears and 3 loaves of bread, so why not!  Then we made homemade soft pretzels.  This is a tradition that goes back to my childhood…well, my Mom’s childhood, truth be told.  The recipe at the end of the post.

Soft Pretzels ~ Heaven on a Rack!

Soft Pretzels ~ Heaven on a Rack!


Then we played in the snow!

My Boys ~ Ben & Sam

My Boys ~ Ben & Sam


The Dog ~ Dexter...he LOVES the snow!

The Dog ~ Dexter...he LOVES the snow!


Me & My Boys!

Me & My Boys!


RECIPE: This is an old family recipe. My Mom has a note on it that her Uncle shared the recipe with my Grandma when she was 12.
1 1/2 cups lukewarm water
2 Tbsp sugar
1 pkg yeast
4 1/2 cups flour
Combine the water, sugar and yeast in a large bowl and let it bloom for 5 minutes. Add the flour all at once and stir with a wooden spoon to combine. Turn out onto a LIGHTLY floured surface and knead a few times. Roll into a large rectangle and cut into 18 pieces (I use a pizza wheel for this). Roll each piece into a snake and form a pretzel. Place pretzels on parchment that has been lightly sprayed with Pam.
Boil 10 cups of water and add 2/3 cup baking soda to the water. Dunk the pretzels into the water. Remove them when they float to the surface and place them back on the parchment. Sprinkle with kosher salt.
Transfer them to a parchment-lined baking sheet that has been sprayed with Pam. They won’t spread much, so you can place them pretty close together, but they need room between them to brown nicely. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 10-15 minutes or until well golden brown.
Eat them warm…that’s when they are best! 🙂

I hope you’re enjoying your day!

2 responses to “Snow Day!

  1. I’m so glad you posted the recipe! I was going to ask for it. I’ll have to print it out. 🙂 Happy Snow Day!

  2. Ooooo…I can almost smell them! Ben, Sam and Dexter look like they had fun outside! I can’t believe how those boys have grown!
    Love, Me/Ma/Grandma

Leave a Reply

